Overblog
Editer la page Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
ARCHIPELS Le blog de Michel Borla

Textes, poèmes, etc

Textes en anglais

Publié par Michel Borla

AS EVER
 

Once again we went for a drink together
Once again we found good shade and cosiness for both of us

Once again you were so close and so far as ever

Once again I drank your words
But they didn’t quite quench my thirst
And our time came to an end

Once again we walked back together
Once again so close and so far as ever
And once again we parted as good friends

There is something I don't understand in this that never ends
The place was the same as ever
The people were the same as ever

And it was certainly not the weather

 

July 2023

THE LIFT OR THE STAIRS

 

The trees are grey now
Dark grey
And the light won’t get any better
Come to think of it
I came to like the street
And I didn’t mind the people after all
But today isn’t the same
Because the trees are grey
And you’re not there
Looking down the street from the fourth floor
Counting the new leaves on the branches
Or telling me about the turtledoves on the balcony
Checking out the strange people opposite
Or asking me whether I used the lift
Or the stairs
And why would you care?
But today is not the same
Because someone else lives there
That is most likely
And I dare not look up
For fear I might see you there
Counting the new leaves on the branches
Or telling me about the turtledoves on the balcony
Today is not the same
And I will use neither lift nor stairs
That is my answer
To the question above
And only I care
Still I walk around the block
And I find myself where
I started four and sixty years before
But the people aren’t the same
and the light won’t get any better
Because the trees are grey
And you’re just not there

January 2023

 

 

SOUND OF THE RIVER

 

Went back to the place where we first kissed
Was it here or there or somewhere in between
Place looked so small the trees too high
For the sun to creep in
And the sound of the river so weak

Echoes of a song that we used to sing
I Lay on the grass just like we did
It seems so corny now I’m sure you’d agree
And yet haven’t felt so elated since
Never felt so elated since

So I went back to the place I meant to forget
Stayed about for a while couldn’t feel anything
The light fading out the air not so sweet
The stars still to be seen
And the sound of the river so weak

The sound of the river so weak
And all the songs that we used to sing
All the songs we used to sing

                                                                                                                                                 July 2021